Vintage Look

The Safari Dress

 Over the last week I have been spending some much needed time in front of the sewing machine which has been relaxing and very productive! For my latest project I used another amazing Alexander Henry print that I purchased from The Fabric Yard.  This one is called Kendi Safari  and it does not disappoint!

safari1

This cotton fabric is a kaleidoscope of animals nestled amongst these beautiful, soft muted tones.

sxgqhskdoko_1024x1024@2xI only bought 2.5 metres of this fabric and I wanted to use most of the fabric to make a pleated skirt for this dress.  I used The Skater Dress bodice by Simple Sew which I got free with a sewing magazine many moons ago.  I like the low V neck back detail on this pattern and it doesn’t require much fabric, which is important when you have animals to match up across the zip!  I also didn’t use the facings as I wanted to line the bodice, however,  I did make sure to add some interfacing strips to the V to prevent any sagging in this area, which works well.

I then pleated the remainder of the fabric, attached it to the bodice and finished the hem with gold satin bias binding.  I like the way this adds a nice flash of colour when I walk.

safari2

I’m really pleased with the results and the dress seemed to attract other wild animals on it’s first outing at the weekend!

Until next time…

7 thoughts on “The Safari Dress

Leave a Reply

