Dress · Dresses · Vintage Look

The Mermaid Dress

It’s been a while since my last blog but things have been so hectic recently that I am afraid to say my blog has been a little neglected!  However, I have been busy sewing and so I thought I would tell you a little bit about the mermaid dress I made recently and to get back on track with my blogging!

m6

I first saw this Alexander Henry print over on Kittenish Behaviour and knew I had to have it in my life.  I purchased it from The Fabric Yard and I chose the tea colour way which is a lovely combination of greens and yellows – perfect for the red heads among us!

m1I decided to use the By Hand London Anna bodice so that the print wouldn’t be broken up too much and I also made sure that I had one mermaid placed on each shoulder so that the zip didn’t interrupt the design.  This is the second Anna I have made and I made a couple of adjustments to the neckline; dropping it slightly and also bringing the shoulders in by slashing the neckline and bringing it in to make sure it sat perfectly.

Although I placed the mermaids on the fabric carefully, I didn’t realise that I had featured some starfish clad breasts on my right shoulder!  It still makes me chuckle every time I wear this dress! Now this does make me smile!!  🙂

m5

I drafted a gathered skirt as I wanted as many mermaids as humanly possible to feature on this dress -well why not!?

All in all, this is the perfect fitting Anna bodice and a great showcase for this amazing fabric.  Admittedly, it will not be making an appearance in the workplace, but it is a fun dress that seems to attract a great deal of comments when I wear it!

m7

You can see more about this dress over on my Youtube channel – Click here!

Until next time…

8 thoughts on “The Mermaid Dress

Leave a Reply

