Dress · Vintage Look

Twirling with Teapots

Is it me, or has the world recently gone mad for dungaree dresses? Yes, I know that Tilly has just bought out the Cleo pattern and everyone seems to be making it – but it’s not for me. Don’t get me wrong, the pattern looks lovely on and there are some amazing ones flying around the interweb – what I mean is, it’s just not my style!

However, I AM jumping on the dungaree dress bandwagon. Some of you may have seen my beloved WW2 overalls that I made some time ago and they are probably my favourite make yet – so I am not new to the dungaree craze (trust me, I grew up in the 80’s!) So when the Cotton and Chalk Sunday Set came free with the September edition of Simply Sewing magazine I was keen to whip one up on the machine, as the flared skirt is much more in keeping with my own personal taste.

I had some medium weight denim in my stash and so I cut out the pattern and pressed on with the sewing. The pattern sizing needed a bit of tweaking. The envelope suggested that I cut out a size 12-14 based on my waist measurement (I measure 28” at the waist and the pattern stated that a 12-14 was between a 27 ½” and 29”) but I ended up altering the pattern and taking a whopping 4”out of the waistband!

pinafore4I used a red thread for the topstitching and although it took longer to make doing this, I like the finish that it gives the dress. I bought these spectacular buttons from the Textile Garden stall at a stitching fair held at The Olympia in London a couple of years ago. They go perfectly with this dress and so many people comment on them! I omitted the button on the back of the waistband and went for an invisible zip instead. I did this for two reasons; the first being that one of these chunky buttons would not be comfortable when sitting in a chair (a stag imprint on the skin isn’t classy) and secondly, I just prefer an invisible zip!

I really like this dress and will definitely make another one in the future. Just look at the straps at the back – I’m in love!

pinafore1

For the purpose of the photos I’m wearing it with a self-drafted blouse in this gorgeous teatime liberty print fabric – very apt, as I’m a serious tea drinker!

 

The skirt is my favourite part of the dress as it flares out when twirling – what more could a girl want?

pinafore5

 

Until next time…

22 thoughts on “Twirling with Teapots

  1. How have I existed without teapot fabric in my life? That is absolutely amazing and I need to get some. The best bit is that it’s a small print, so the teapots are almost in stealth mode until you’re up close.

    Love the dungaree dress with the swirly skirt – it looks like so much fun to wear.

    Like

  2. Ooo! I love your dress! The top stitching and buttons are great. Isn’t the ease in pattern sizing annoying? 4″ is a lot, especially on what is supposed to be a close fitting skirt. I also love your blouse and the tea pot fabric, which I am about to google right now…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Lynne! I would normally check the pattern by measuring the actual pieces but I didn’t bother this time – that will teach me! I hope you find the teapot fabric, it’s so lovely to work with. 😃

      Like

Leave a Reply

