Tops · Vintage Look

Pastel Pink

 

c2ibai2wqaenoykEvery now and then, I get a small spark of an idea in my head and it miraculously becomes a reality. No, this doesn’t happen very often but seeing Halley’s comet is not a weekly event and sightings of the Loch Ness monster are very few and far between, right? But occasionally if you are patient with yourself, the planets align and something great happens and it’s well worth the wait.

This is exactly what happened with my latest make! 🙂

 

si_8128I had bought the Simplicity 8128 pattern last summer after I saw Rosa’s lovely version over on her blog fancy frugality which you can see here.  This video shows both the top and skirt and is also available to view on You Tube.  Since then, time has passed me by and the weather has changed to winter so needless to say that the pattern found itself crammed into my ever-growing stash.   Last week I decided that it was time for a spring clean in the sewing room and I came across this pattern again.  I automatically started wishing for warmer weather so that I could make up the cute little crop top pictured on the pattern envelope.

c2n7n1pwgaae6udIt was precisely at this point that the light bulb moment occurred! Why do I have to wait until summer? I could have a wool version and wear it as a tank top!

After looking online, I found this lovely pale pink wool from Minerva Crafts and I knew that it would be perfect for this project. I used some Liberty fabric to make the facings and the bow as I wanted a touch of interest when I do a Disney princess twirl turn around.

I made the pattern up in a size 10 as I didn’t want it to end up too big (the finished garment measurements are quite large so it is worth checking the sizing before cutting out!) I also extended the hemline another couple of inches – well it is winter here in Blighty!  I hand stitched the hem and the facings down so that the stitching would not be visible on the outside of the garment.  This did take a while but the results are worth all the time and effort.

I am really happy with the result and I know I’ll be making another one of these tops over the winter. I like the 60’s style that this garment seems to take on when it’s made in a different fabric – you don’t get much more sixties than pink wool (think Jackie O!) It looks great with my high waisted jeans and goes perfectly with my vintage ceramic brooch too. 🙂

pwt5

I think I’ll try making a longer one in a slightly drapier fabric and maybe with a satin bow…

So until next time, make the most of those light bulb moments!

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Pastel Pink

  1. So cute and it looks so snuggly and warm! The fabric is very Jackie O, I bet the top would look fabulous with a matching pencil skirt and round neck jacket, oh and a pillbox hat of course!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

