Dress · Vintage Look

Sewing with Angels

mum1It has been quite a while since I my last blog post and I am the first to admit that I have neglected my sewing for the past couple of months too. The reason for the radio silence is because my wonderful mum passed away after a short but courageous battle against ovarian cancer at just 64 years of age. It was a great shock to us all as she was diagnosed in August, started chemotherapy in the September and was gone in the October. I mean how can you carry on doing the things you love when your best friend and biggest fan isn’t around anymore? Well, trust me it’s bloody hard, but Mum was so proud of my blog and my sewing journey and when I pick up the needle I find some balance restored in my life – if only for a short spell.  So life continues and we have to look forward, right? After all, Christmas is around the corner and Mum LOVED this time of year – she certainly went to town with decorations, baking and presents! Me? I love a bit of Christmas sewing and everyone needs that special dress for a festive night out…

img_20161012_162001I found this beautiful fabric from Ditto a few months ago. It is a lightweight wool with flocked polka dots – I mean how could I resist? The fabric is actually a chestnut brown but it is a little difficult to photograph. I decided that it was going to be a Christmas frock as soon as I saw it and I knew that another Sew Over It vintage shirtdress was on the cards.

I decided to add red ric rac to the shoulder seams and the cuffs. Ric rac always seems so Christmassy doesn’t it? The buttons were from The Stitchery and are the perfect match as they really make the spots pop!

I’m really happy with the dress. The wool fabric will keep me toasty and the style of this dress means that it can be worn during the day or in the evening. I’ve lost count on how many times I have made this pattern up but I love the fit – it’s a winner every time!

So this Christmas I shall be putting on my new dress and toasting a glass to my dear mum. Relishing the memories and wearing my tears with love.<3

Until next time…

 

 

28 thoughts on “Sewing with Angels

  1. So sorry about your Mum., it’s hard enough when they’ve lived a full life, but really tough when she’s so young. Your dress however, is a triumph and a wonderful make in her memory. Have a memorable Christmas!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely dress! What a horrid autumn, but I think your mum keeps a close eye on you, your sewing and your blog. If she loved it while here, she will certainly still do so. You can’t embrace her with you arms, but you can with your soul. Have you met her in your dreams yet? I meet my dad now and then, and it’s always lovely.
    So raise a glass to your mum and wish her merry Christmas. While wearing your dress. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh, how wonderful! I would (if I can be so bold) urge you to consider that you are travelling to her in dreamtime, and that this *is* her life on the other side. You could also set an intention to go visiting in dreamtime. And ask your angels/guarians/protective spirits/whatever to protect and guide you as you meet up with mum. No longer here in the physical, but definitely still with you. ❤

        Like

  3. So sorry to hear your sad news. It’s hard to know what to say, but I’m sure your mums smiling down on you and seeing how lovely you look in your dress. I think sew over it should have you as their ambassador for this pattern, you really carry the style so well x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, I am sure Mum would be as thrilled with this dress as I am! This pattern is so lovely and is now such a quick make since I have made it so many times . The familiarity takes the pressure off when you’re getting back into the swing of things! Ambassador of the vintage shirt dress – I wish! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom. My grandfather passed away in a similarly swift way and it really leaves you spinning. How can it happen so quickly?

    Sending you a lot of love this holiday season. And of course your dress is very beautiful. Perfect for Christmas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, I know what you mean. Sometimes I still can’t get my head around her not being here or the fact that I can’t just call her. We used to talk several times a week and it was usually sewing related. I hope you have a lovely, peaceful Christmas.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m so sorry Beccy, I cannot even imagine what you’re going through. I do hope you manage to celebrate Christmas and raise a glass to your mum. Our family tradition is to light a candle on Christmas morning, put it on the window sill with the curtains open and invite those we’ve lost to come and join in the celebrations. It then burns the rest of the day as if they’re with us until we go to bed. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m so sorry for your loss. While the holidays will surely be bittersweet this year, I hope you are able to find joy and comfort in your memories of your mother and her love of the season. And may the same comfort come to you any time you sew, since she was so proud of your work. Thinking of you and sending some trans-Atlantic hugs. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I was so sorry to hear about your mother. She was such a vivacious lady on instagram. It is lovely that you’re starting to be able to return to something you take joy in! Happy Christmas, if it can’t be a joyful one this year, I hope it will at least be a calm and reflective one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. Sewing gives me time to lose myself in my thoughts and this is comforting in itself. I am sure that Mum will be the centre of conversation this year and we will delight in the memories. Merry Christmas to you and yours. x

      Liked by 1 person

  8. My heart goes out to you. May you indeed find peace and comfort in doing the things that you know made your mom proud. The dress is beautiful. That fabric is is like an irrepressible tribute to finding spots of colour and beauty and hope in somber times.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. You were so lucky having each other but I guess that makes the loss all that harder. Keep sewing Becky, it’s good for your heart and I know you inspired her to sew too. Hope you and yours have a warm Christmas despite the heartache xxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

