Vintage Look

The Regatta Dress

Apologies for the radio silence lately – I’ve been busy sewing (as you can see on my Instagram page) but I’ve had very little time to blog about my makes!  However, sometimes the stars align and you make a garment that you want to show the world – THIS is that dress!

P1070350

P1070360I found this beautiful printed cotton in Ditto Fabrics last week and had to have it.  You know, it’s that fabric that calls to you and you just can’t live without it!  I snapped up two metres and knew that it was destined to be my party dress for my birthday celebrations that are this week.

I wanted a 1950’s style dress and decided that I would draft the bodice from my bodice block that I made several months ago.  Of course it had to have a boat neck to match all those boats on the fabric!  I managed to pattern match the front bodice and front skirt at the waist and also either side of the zip on the back bodice, but I ran out of fabric to match the back skirt panels, but hey – I can live it!

I then thought about the skirt and knew I wanted a flared A-line style so that it could be worn with or without a petticoat.  I love the skirt of the Sew Over It vintage shirt dress and so I used this pattern by cutting the front of the skirt on the fold and omitting the seam allowance and button band.  Voila!

 

P1070362

I’m so pleased with this dress and can’t wait to dance the night away in it!

Until next time….

 

26 thoughts on “The Regatta Dress

  1. This is lovely, perfect for a birthday celebration (Happy Birthday by the way!) Thanks for the tip about using the Vintage Shirt Dress skirt – that’s definitely one to copy as I love the style of it too! x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

