Tops · Vintage Look

Never Judge a Top by it’s Cover!

I love a quick sewing fix, doesn’t everyone?  But this little top is even better as it only requires one metre of fabric!

P1060598

 

6217I’ve had the Simplicity 6217 in my stash forever and  I don’t even know where it came from (probably one of those freebies in a sewing mag)  anyway, it had been left at the bottom of the pattern pile because I thought that it just wasn’t my kind of thing.  Well, the picture is hardly inspiring is it?  But then I happened to see this cute little top made up by handmadejane and my head was turned!  They say never judge a book by it’s cover…

As I said before, this pattern only requires one metre of fabric, some thread and one button.  There are only three pieces to cut out which makes it a really swift sew and perfect for that ‘quick fix!’  I used this lovely blue viscose that has tiny yellow and white feathers all over it and finished it off with a yellow vintage button at the back.  It only took a couple of hours to cut out and sew – speedy indeed!

I love this top as it goes well with circle skirts and tucked into my Freddie’s of Pinewood high-waist jeans.  I’ve already made another one out of a border print fabric (which you can see on my Instagram here) and I know that I’ll be making more of them as the loose fit will be perfect for summer.

So, my advice:

Always look at the line drawing before you make a hasty decision about a pattern.  You never know, the perfect garment could be lurking deep in the depths of your pattern pile!

Oh, and wear a Erstwilder brooch at every possible opportunity! 😉

Until next time!

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Never Judge a Top by it’s Cover!

  1. Very cute fabric- and love the button detail!

    I absolutely agree about the line drawings– sometimes the envelope front/the fabric used for the example piece doesn’t do the pattern justice. Love this on you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love anything that could be made in a metre of fabric! Question, did you already have the fabric in your stash, or you went out to buy the fabric for this pattern? When you buy fabrics for a not-yet-planned project, how much do you buy? And if you end up only using one metre, what do you do with the remaining (if any)? I struggle to use my scraps (as big as 1m itself) and prefer not to repeat fabrics on future projects. What to do!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This fabric was in my stash. My rule is that 1.5m with usually make a short sleeved blouse and 2.5m will make a dress – this usually works out well and means that I can buy fabric on a whim! I tend to keep favourite scraps and use them to line pockets or make bias binding. However, I am keeping all of my Liberty leftovers to make a quilt one day – a memory quilt of my handmade clothes!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fabulous little top. I love the fabric and contrasting head scarf. Your hair looks ver pretty too. I will have to rake out my pattern and look through my stash to make one for myself. 🙃 🙂 😄 👏🏻

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m not keen on T-shirts either, so this is a good alternative and I know I have this pattern somewhere, too. The blue fabric is lovely and perfect for this style. Good decision!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

