Dress · Dresses · Vintage Look

Dabbling with Daisies

It’s been a while since my last post, but I have been busy sewing – honest!  If you follow me on Instagram you will see just how much I have been up to in the dressmaking department!  But I couldn’t resist telling you about one of my latest make as I’ve been dabbling with daisies…

DPP_0016Of course, most of you will know that I have an obsession interest in vintage dresses and in particular ones from the 1940’s, so this dress is my take on this fine era.

I found this lovely blue chambray fabric and fell in love with the daisy print.  I then set about designing my own made to measure dress with some inspiration from the wonderful Peggy Olsen from Mad Men.  For Christmas I was given the DVD of the final season and, before I could indulge in the finale, I re-watched the whole series – yes, I’m dedicated!  Now, for those of you who have not seen Mad Men, it is by far the best series that has ever graced our screens (in my opinion!)  The cast is amazing and the fashions are exquisite – the perfect inspiration for the maker of clothes.

DPP_0023

Whilst watching series 4 I spied Peggy wearing a yellow top with a scarf tied through button holes at the neck.  I had a light bulb moment and decided to create this myself – it was easy to do using just three buttonholes. I really like the idea of changing the ribbon/scarf according to your accessories – perfect!

DPP_0021I then set about drafting the skirt and added four pleats, two at the front and two at the back.  Peggy wears a stunning navy blue dress with red pleats and so this skirt was based on this idea (you can see a photo of Peggy wearing this dress on my IG.)  I will be making the exact dress in the future as it is amazing!  I topstitched all the pleats so that they hold their shape and it makes ironing a lot easier!

DPP_0013

I lined the bodice of the dress and added a zip at the back being careful to match the print either side.

dasiy1

And as for the final episode of Mad Men?  It was worth the wait and so was this dress!! 🙂

DPP_0036

Until next time… x

24 thoughts on “Dabbling with Daisies

  1. That button hole idea is so cool! Sadly I have never seen Mad Men… maybe one day! There are just too many other things to see/do that I haven’t carved out time for some of the more popular TV shows. But yeah, great job!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Basically you stitch along the edge of each pleat on the inside. It just makes them look crisp all the time. I’m still thinking about your lovely Heather dress – I’m going to have to get that pattern!

      Like

Leave a Reply

