Dress · Dresses · Vintage Look

New Year, New Dress!

Happy New Year!teal1It’s January already and winter still doesn’t seem to have reached us here in Blighty yet, so while I’m still happy to get my legs out (though only with tights on you understand) I have been beavering away and made another Sew Over It vintage shirtdress.teal2

The reason I have made this one (my fourth shirtdress, if I’m being honest) is because I have lived in my last one ever since it left the sewing machine!  This style is perfect for work and if it’s made in a warm fabric you don’t need to wear a cardigan with it. In fact, the only important decision I have to make before leaving the house in the morning is which brooch to wear. So needless to say, I definitely needed another winter shirtdress in the wardrobe!

teal5teal4This time I used a brushed cotton in a beautiful teal blue that I bought in The Brighton Sewing Centre on the first Sew Bees meet up. It is lovely and soft and has a herringbone effect running through it, which adds interest. Again I only added a couple of inches to the bodice length – the rest was made up as instructed by the pattern.

The buttons were bought from The Stitchery in Lewes and match the fabric perfectly – I can always count on them to have the right buttons!

 

 

There’s not really anything else to say about this dress as I think I’ve covered everything in previous posts. But I will say that dress number 4 is another hit, although I may leave it a while before number 5 makes an appearance!

teal3

Does anyone else get bored with taking photos and resort to striking silly poses, or is it just me?!

Until next time…

 

 

34 thoughts on “New Year, New Dress!

  1. Ooooh a warm dress that’s PRETTY! Great job! And I’m with you on striking silly poses. I get self conscious and start just flailing around after a while. Sometimes those turn out to be the best photos!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

