Dress · Vintage Look · Vintage Patterns

Virtually Vintage at Christmas

Some of you who follow me on Instagram may have noticed that a ‘few’ vintage patterns have ‘fallen’ through my letterbox recently and this has given me the perfect excuse to make a Christmas party dress. 🙂  50s1

50s7This pattern is the Simplicity 3262 published in 1950. The envelope and instructions are a little tatty but that’s all part of the charm right?

This dress is right up my street – it has everything; drawstring shoulders, ruched bodice and a twirly skirt!  As soon as it arrived, I knew that it was destined to be made with this beautiful viscose that I purchased from the Fabric Godmother open day a little while ago.

I made the dress straight out of the packet and made no fiddly alterations.  I took 4 inches off at the hem (this length suits me better) and I also added an invisible zip in the side bodice rather than faffing around with a placket!  Well, if the ladies in the 1950’s had a choice I’m sure they would have gone for a zip too! 😉

50s250s3

 

The dress was fairly straightforward to make and although the drawstring shoulders took a little while to complete, the fabric was a dream to sew with.  It has a lovely drape, feels really soft and needs very little in the way of ironing.  This is an ex-designer fabric with a print from the vintage archives, so it had to be made into a vintage dress!

 

 

Here’s a couple of close ups:

50s6

50s4

So that’s another Vintage Pattern Pledge completed and in perfect time for the Christmas parties!

Until next time…

 

 

38 thoughts on “Virtually Vintage at Christmas

  1. I love everything about this dress. The pretty fabric and those gorgeous gathered shoulders. I particularly love how you’ve styled this with the red belt and shoes!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahahaha I was trying to delete that and pressed send lol it was meant to say gorgeous!!! Lol gorgeous dress! The vintage style really suits you. I love it! Beautiful photos. Good idea to put in a zip instead of placket 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

