Tops · Vintage Look

Oh, Orla!

I know what you’re thinking, ‘she hasn’t been on here for weeks and now there’s two blog posts in two days!’

Well, I have been sewing like mad but it has been so hard for me to get any reasonable photos due to the very grey weather here in Blighty!  But for now the rain has cleared and so without no further ado, I give you the Orla!

P1060201

Just in case you have been in hibernation, Orla is one of the latest patterns from Tilly and the Buttons and is a loose fitting blouse with an exquisite collar and exposed zip.

P1060207I bought this gorgeous broken eggshells fabric from Sew Over It and although I love it, the collar gets a little lost in the pattern.  However, at this time of year I have been wearing it with a cardi and this shows the collar off perfectly!

The project was straightforward, I didn’t need to make any adjustments to the pattern and I really like the length of the blouse.  Is it me or do blouses often come up short?  At 5’4″ I’m not the tallest person in the world but I think that I may have a long torso!

P1060209This was the first time that I had ever sewn an exposed zip and I couldn’t believe how easy it was to insert!  The zip was also purchased from Sew Over It and I really like the contrasting colour which gives the top a sense of fun. 🙂

I’m really happy with this blouse and I’ll definitely be making more of them in the future. I would like to have a one with a contrasting collar to really show it off to the world!

P1060199Until next time…

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Oh, Orla!

  1. Do you have a lipstick to match all your skirts? The Orla looks lovely and if my first attempt at an exposed zip looks like this I’ll be happy. I see what you mean about the collar but perfect with a cardi. 😄x

    Like

  2. I know exactly what you mean about blouses and tops being short – have the same problem and I’m not exactly tall! Lovely top, and great fabric 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

