Dress · Vintage Look

Ready for Autumn

Autumn is my favourite season with all the colours of nature on display and the weather being not too cold.  What better way to celebrate than a new dress and woolly hat?P1060103I used the Sew Over It vintage shirt dress pattern again – I know, it’s my third, but you can never have too much of a good thing right?

P1060111

I found this lovely grey wool in Ditto Fabrics in Brighton and knew it would make a cosy garment to see me over the cooler months.  It really is hard to believe it’s wool as it’s so soft and drapes beautifully – no itchy material here my friends!  I ended up using the wrong side of the fabric as the weave is more pronounced and I bought these cute square buttons to give it that retro feel.

 

This time I added two inches to the bodice length as this was more in line with my natural waist and I also went for the long sleeve option.

P1060108

P1060098P1060101P1060107I love everything about this dress and although the wool made it an expensive dress to make, it was well worth it!  I now own a timeless winter dress that will be worn for many more winters to come.  It also goes with my lovely new hat from Accessorize – what more could a girl want?  Ok, maybe more fabric…

Until next time…

 

37 thoughts on “Ready for Autumn

  1. The Perfect winter dress and hat! I love them both- I’m a total hat girl 🙂 You look lovely as always and very stylish- that dress is a classic XX

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this.! Great fabric and i love your choice of buttons to finish it off. A timeless dress. I bought this pattern but didn’t get around to making it so was thinking that’s it now until next summer…but – I hadn’t thought of a winter version so thanks!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!! I have just seen your blog and I love it, so I’m now following you! You have made some lovely clothes and I’m looking forward to settling down and reading through your posts this evening. Then I’ll have to come up with 11 interesting facts, eek! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

