Skirts · Tops · Vintage Look · Vintage Patterns

Pleats and Buttons

This week my thoughts have turned to autumn, partly because it is time for summer holidays to end and it’s back to work and reality!  Although I have loved making quite a few summery garments over the past few months I needed to start thinking about smart work wear that will see me through the cooler months.

dos skirtI picked up this Decades of Style PB & J skirt pattern during my visit to La La Rookh a few weeks ago and thought that I would give it a try.  It’s a 1950’s style that would work well in light cottons but also in heavier fabrics.  I found this lovely heavy (and I mean heavy) cotton fabric in The Stitchery last week – I went in for buttons (you know what it’s like) and ended up buying fabric – again!  It has a brushed cotton feel on the inside so this one should keep me snuggly in the winter!  The fabric looks black from a distance, but it has a subtle blue/grey stripe running through it which adds a little bit of interest and brings out the bias cut on the skirt – although you can’t really see this in the photos!  The buttons were out of my great aunts button box – I think they were probably off an old coat…

P1050796P1050801The pattern instructions were easy to follow and the only change I made was to take 7 inches off of the hem.

I’m really pleased with how the skirt came together so quickly ,although hemming it by hand probably took longer than the cutting out and sewing up!  However I’m glad that I spent the time on this as it is invisible on the outside and it would probably have been to bulky to sew this on the machine. 🙂

Unfortunately the weather here in Blighty is cooling down (I don’t think it ever really got hot) and so I will be wearing this skirt for work sooner than I thought!

The blouse is another of my obsessive McCall’s 7919, which you may have seen before… 😉  This time I used a pretty floral print that I’ve had hanging around in my stash for a while and the buttons were some vintage ones that I found on ebay.  I love the jade green colour and I have a cardigan that matches it perfectly!

 

P1050820

P1050822

Until next time…

 

19 thoughts on “Pleats and Buttons

  1. What a fabulous skirt!! The waist/button detail is so unusual and it looks absolutely perfect. You have done a brilliant job! I’ve been working with some very heavy fabric this week – the skirt can pretty much stand up by itself!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love everything about this outfit. What a lovely skirt! Those pleats💕. Is it a wrap skirt or does it have a zipper? Is its zip how did you get on with that and the heavy fabric? Thanks.

    Like

  3. Thanks Hila! The pleats are at the front and it has an invisible zip at the back. The fabric was really easy to work with but quite heavy and so I had to make sure it didn’t pull itself down while I was sewing. A good workout for the wrists!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

