Tops · Vintage Look · Vintage Patterns

Hello Sailor!

As you may have seen in my last post ‘Vintage at Heart’, I have a new (albeit vintage) favourite pattern.  The McCall’s 7919 has 3 variations of collars and sleeves and fits me like a glove – what’s not to love?

P1050746P1050745I digress, back to the beginning…

Last week I visited The Sewing Parlour in St Leonards on Sea (they have a wonderful blog that you can view here.)  It is a lovely little place that overlooks the seafront and offers dressmaking workshops for all abilities and ages.  The studio is run my Anna who has a great deal of experience in costume making and is also the brains behind La La Rookh designs.  It is a beautiful space where you can drool over all things vintagey and it’s filled with gorgeous haberdashery as well as  a vast selection of vintage and repro patterns – my idea of heaven! 🙂

I have been chatting to Anna and Lexie on Twitter and Instagram for a while now and so I was excited to visit them. I was not disappointed, they were so friendly and helpful that it was like visiting old friends! 🙂 After buying some  beautiful fabrics and Decades of Style patterns they also gave me the heads up on the best cake shop I have ever been in – seriously the lemon drizzle was to die for!

untitled
Sewing and cake were made for each other!
P1050762
Sailor print

One of the fabrics that I couldn’t resist was this cute sailor print.  It is the softest cotton and really lovely to work with.  I  like the vintage style of the design and it’s in a soft pink/blush which makes a nice change to the wardrobe.

This time I decided to try out the open collar which works well in this print.  I took the side seams in  by about an inch so that it is a little more fitted and shortened the sleeves slightly and omitted the cuffs.  This wasn’t intentional, but in order to get the front pattern to match up I had to practise some clever cutting skills!

I also found these lovely porthole buttons from Textile Garden, aren’t they just perfect? They have an amazing range – lots of button and trim loveliness!

I am so happy with this blouse, can you tell?

P1050744P1050743P1050754

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Until next time…

22 thoughts on “Hello Sailor!

  1. I just noticed you have horizontal buttonholes instead of vertical ones. Was that the pattern instruction or your own addition? Just curious because I dont think I have ever come across a pattern with horizontal ones.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Horizontal buttonholes were the norm before the 1960’s and they were like this on the pattern. I quite like them this way around and (as I’m quite small in the bust department) I can get away with it without any pulling! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I can see why you’re happy – it’s fabulous! Excellent pattern matching with that little sailor at the front. And yeah those buttons really do make it – what a great find! Lovely story too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a fantastic blouse! The print is just so cute and the buttons go with it perfectly. I’m yet to buy any Decades of Style patterns (although I’ve got my eye on several!), are they good patterns to work with?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

