Tops · Vintage Look · Vintage Patterns

Vintage at Heart

Most of you will know by now that I was born in the wrong decade.

Recently I have  been clearing out my wardrobe  and I am proud to say that I now have more hand sewn garments than RTW ones.  What I have also found out about myself is that I seem to be drawn to the styles of the 1940’s and 50’s.  These are the clothes that I feel really comfortable in – ok, I may dress a little different to the average person but I feel more at ease with my appearance and I have gained confidence in how I look.

My latest make is a lovely vintage blouse that channels my inner land girl and fulfils another Vintage Pledge!

P1050717
McCalls’ 7919
P1050731
Vintage Blouse Pattern

I found this lovely pattern on ebay for about £4 – I do love a bargain!

I  have a ‘habit’ at scouring the interweb for old patterns.  I like the art work and the reading the instructions takes you back in time.  It makes me warm and fuzzy inside to know that someone else (a long time ago) made the garment before me and in the very same way.  It’s like having your own piece of history to cherish!

I decided to make view C as this was the one that initially caught my eye – although I may well be making the other two at some point as they are all lovely!

P1050732
View C

I bought some lovely and inexpensive red polka dot fabric from Ditto in Brighton specifically for this project.  It is a lightweight cotton that will be cool during the Summer and will team up nicely with a cardigan when the weather isn’t so good (it’s very hit and miss here in Blighty!)

The instructions were easy to follow and the blouse went together well.  I didn’t make any real adjustments to the pattern but I did make the sleeves a little shorter.  Next time I will add another inch or two at the hem – this is just me being fussy!

My favourite thing about this garment is the collar!  It is such a flattering shape and sits beautifully *sighs a happy sigh*

Now for some posing for the camera…

P1050715
Pleats in the front bodice
P1050716
The same pleats in the back too!

The buttons were bought from The Stitchery in Lewes and as soon as I saw them knew they would be perfect for this blouse!

P1050721
Buttons

So, the second blouse has already been made and I just need to stitch on the buttons.  It has a very different look as I have chosen a floral fabric and smaller buttons but it still has a vintage theme!  I’ll be making several of these in this future too.

 P1050713
Vintage at Heart

Until next time…

24 thoughts on “Vintage at Heart

  1. Another great item you have created and so quick! I don’t know how you do it. It’s so land girls! You will be starting your own line before too long.

    Would love to see the inside of your wardrobe with all your homemade pieces. I know I would be really jealous! X

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! You really should try a vintage pattern. It took me ages to pluck up the courage as I had heard so many horror stories! They really aren’t too difficult – it’s just a case of measuring the pattern before you cut the fabric!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I used to think I already had a pretty good idea of what suited my lack of height and curves, but it’s definitely got a lot better since I started sewing! Maybe all the photo taking involved in blogging helps too?

        Like

    1. Thanks Linda! I really enjoy reading about vintage fashion and recently subscribed to Vintage Life magazine which is amazing! I’ve actually made three more blouses since this one! Two of them have the open neck and the floral one is the same as this. I’ll have to put them on here soon, the trouble is I’m too busy sewing! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

