Dress · Vintage Look

The Picnic Dress

The Summer holidays have arrived at last and it is time to get a few projects ticked off of the sewing list! 🙂

P1050636
Shoulder detail

My latest make is the Sew Over It vintage shirt dress that my mum bought me for my birthday along with some lovely floral fabric.  I am still putting the finishing touches on the floral number but I also made one in this lovely check material too.

I actually started the floral one first but I have had this fabric in my stash for a while after I bought it on a whim from The Stitchery in Lewes.  I knew that I wanted to make a dress with it but the check pattern made me nervous – all that pattern matching!  However, I took the plunge and I’m so glad I did as it’s my new favourite Summer frock.

P1050619
Vintage Shirt Dress

The pattern was really easy to follow and the instructions come in a really lovely book form, so no battling with large sheets of paper.  It took me quite a while to figure out the pattern matching and I am pleased with the result – I’m not that good at being patient so this was a challenge in itself! I’m really chuffed with the way the checks line up across the front and I’m particularly smug about the matching on the collar too:

P1050642
It doesn’t get much better than this! 🙂

I used some red vintage buttons that I found in an antique shop for a few pounds and they match perfectly.  So I’m ready for a picnic and I really don’t mind that I could be camouflaged against the picnic blanket!

P1050622P1050649P1050643

 

29 thoughts on “The Picnic Dress

  1. Well another beautiful vintage dress made, it takes me back to my school days. One of my sewing rejects at school was to make a shirt dress. If you had seen it you would of be horrified at the pattern matching I remember it being a very dark blue plaid, so as you can imagine I had to match up the pattern. I remember, old Miss Underwood, being very pleased with the end project, as I paraded up and down the classroom in it. All I could see we’re the wonkey button holes and lopsided collar and hem!! 😄😄 it must of been okay as I passed my needlework exam with it. X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this dress! I’ve just made my husband a checked shirt and I found it so hard to match up the pattern well. You’ve done a fantastic job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

