Tops

A Tale of Two Tops

Since my sewing journey began I have had a phobia about jersey.  You know the one, that slippery little sucker that moves and bounces at every opportunity.  Well, I’m pleased to say that I have (at last) battled my jersey demon and produced not one, but TWO lovely tops – just to prove to myself that it wasn’t beginners luck!

I used the cross-back top from McCalls 7127 which I purchased a couple of weeks ago from Sew Direct.  I really like the plain front  with a little twist when you turn around that just adds a touch of interest without being over the top!

The first one I made in a lovely grey and black pinstripe jersey that I’ve had in my stash for some time.  Every now and then I would take it out and give it a little stroke before putting it back on the shelf.  But yesterday was the day that I took the bull by the horns and sewed this little beauty! 🙂

P1050339

P1050340

The pattern was so easy to construct and, after trying on the garment halfway through to check the fit, I decided that I liked the kimono sleeve look.  The sleeves went back into my stash (with the remainder of this fabric) and I’ll be getting them out to make a sleeved version in the future.

This fabric drapes beautifully and was a dream to sew.  It didn’t bounce around like I thought it would and it only took me a couple of hours to make! They also go perfectly with my Hepburn Trousers that I made a while ago – perfect work wear! 🙂

So was it beginners luck?

I popped into The Stitchery in Lewes this afternoon for a few staple items and found this gorgeous cornflower blue cotton jersey.  It was time to try the pattern again…

backP1050321P1050317I am so pleased with how this top came together.  The cotton jersey does not have as  much drape as the grey fabric but I love the more casual look!

This one took just over an hour to put together – hence why I am looking so pleased with myself in these pictures!

So the verdict?  There’ll be a few more jersey garments in my wardrobe this year!

Until next time…

28 thoughts on “A Tale of Two Tops

  1. Great job! These don’t look like “beginner” shirts to me. Maybe you were meant to sew with jersey all this time. 🙂 It’s one of my favorite fabrics to sew with- mostly because I’m so bad at fitting woven garments, so stretchy fabric makes it easy to be a little off for the fit. I can’t wait to see what else you make with jersey!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I love the drapiness of the grey – it does make it more of an evening garment, doesn’t it? The blue is a stunning shade though, and looks like a completely different pattern – bonus!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. All of your followers say such lovely things about the items you make…….you should be very proud of yourself!! Again two more beautiful items to add to your wardrobe. Elegant, sexy, and may I say, sassy!! I look forward to your next creation with anticipation……..go girl!!! ✂️✂️✂️ 😊😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

