Skirts

Frills All Round!

Summer is finally making an appearance here in Blighty and so needless to say it is time to get my lily white legs out in the hope that my freckles will join together to create the perfect all over tan!  Just kidding – I am the typical English Rose and no amount of sunshine will get me past the ‘ivory’ stage – unless bright red sunburn counts.   So for me, when the lily whites come out the sun cream does too! As a child of the 80’s I loved my ra ra skirt and when I saw the Burda 6796 I knew that I had to make one.  Anything from this era is now classed as vintage right?!

P1050241
It’s been 30 years since my last ra ra skirt – who’s counting?!
P1050255
Fabric from Ditto, Brighton
P1050271
The leaping bunny is my favourite!

I bought some of this lovely bunny fabric from Ditto Fabrics and knew that it would make a great summer skirt and especially good for dance practice where I can flounce my frills till my hearts content!  The colour will also be good for the cooler months as I can team this skirt up with navy leggings (not that I’m wishing the Summer away!)  This print is sooo cute and I like the retro feel of the fabric.  It is a medium weight cotton that is lovely and soft.   The pattern was easy to follow too.  I cut a size 12 at the waist and graded it up to a 14 over the hips which turned out to be the perfect fit for me.  I did double check the measurements as they seemed huge compared to my usual 8-10 sizing.   I’m glad that I took the time to make sure! The only changes I made were to use an invisible zip and to overlock the second frill instead of using a zig zag stitch.  Do you want to see what’s underneath my skirt?

P1050267
Navy blue cotton lining!

So this pattern is a hit and I’ll definitely be making another one over the Summer.   This is the only thing from the 1980’s that I’m likely to revisit – the shaggy perms and white stilettos will never be worn again! P1050245    

Until next time…

29 thoughts on “Frills All Round!

    1. Thanks, I can’t go into Ditto without buying something – I have to limit myself to once a month now! I loved Fame and always fancied myself as Coco – I’ve now got the theme tune going around in my head ‘Fame! I’m gonna live forever!’
      Help! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

