Skirts

‘An English Country Garden’ Skirt

May is a busy time of year for me with two festivals to attend and not much sewing to be done – Me Made May goes completely out of the window when you spend most of the month camping and the weather is cold!  But June is here and the sun is shining so at last I can get on with all the summer garments I’ve been planning!

P1040810
Simplicity 2226

Yesterday was the first time in ages that I have had the chance to sit down at the sewing machine and run something up.  I decided to make the Simplicity 2226 as I had made a couple last summer, when I was quite new to this sewing malarkey.  This time I made a shorter version and graded the waistband from a size 10 to a size 8 for a better fit.  I remember that this pattern took me days to sew last time but I finished this skirt in under three hours which included the cutting out, so I am getting a little more efficient – Yay!

P1040819
Moda Fabric

The fabric is a lovely medium weight cotton by Moda and will be well used this summer (and probably into the autumn with leggings to keep me toasty).

P1040814
Pocket detail

One of the things I really like about this skirt is the pockets and that the gathering is only on each side of them.  I am a pear so this style works well for me – I don’t need any more attention drawn to my hips thank you very much!

P1040817
Still not sure about the sunhat…
P1040809
Yep, that’s me hugging a tree!

13 thoughts on “‘An English Country Garden’ Skirt

  1. I wondered where you had been!!?? Gorgeous skirt and whole outfit ! So stylish. I love the hat and your shoes are beautiful! I don’t usually make skirts but this whole ensemble is a look I’d like to wear!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for your lovely comment Amanda! 🙂 May is always a busy time for me and the sewing has to take a back seat for a while. Mind you, the break from it has made me want to sew like mad, especially with this gorgeous weather we are having!

    Like

Leave a Reply

