Tops

Cape Convert

Everyone needs a cape.

1950s_cape1
1950’s Cape – I love this collar!

They are warm, simple to construct, chic, incredibly comfortable and I think that they need to make a come-back!  Another great thing about them is that they can be smart or casual depending on your mood.  What’s not to love?  As part of the Wardrobe Architect challenge, I made a few sketches and thought about the fabric and the look I wanted:

My dodgy drawing
My dodgy drawing

The following week the pattern had been drafted and there were only four main pieces so this looked like a pretty swift make – my kind of sewing!  But I then decided to bias bind all the inside seams with Liberty fabric.  It looks gorgeous but, as you can imagine, it took me forever!!

Cape7
Liberty Bound Binding
Cape5
More Binding!

I chose a lovely cream wool from Ditto Fabrics in Brighton that is not too thick and can be worn either with a jumper or blouse in the Spring.  The fabric has a chevron weave and it is really soft to the touch.  It did smell a bit ‘sheepy’ when I pressed the binding so I won’t be wearing it if it’s raining any time soon!

The buttons were found in a little haberdashery and I love the vintage feel they give the cape.  I used four for the front opening and then I stitched one next to each pocket, and through both front and back pieces, so that it looks like I have sleeves.  They also look like chocolate Minstrels – I had to make sure I didn’t dribble on the fabric while sewing them on!

Cape1
Showing off my Minstrels
Cape2
and the ones next to the pockets!

I will definitely make another one in a ‘rain friendly’ fabric that is a little smarter for work.Any other cape converts out there?

Until next time…

 

 

18 thoughts on “Cape Convert

  1. I love this! It’s fab that you designed it yourself. I was going to make a cape but came across one in the charity shop for £5.99, Henry Holland @ Debenhams so bought that instead! It’s so cosy! I did replace the buttons that create the sleeves, so I did do something…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Teresa! Yes, I see her every Monday evening and she is so encouraging and inspiring. I’ve been going for almost a year now and we have all become good friends. You should look online and find somewhere near you, it’s taught me so much and makes me want to learn more! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

