Tops

Loving the Liberty

After making my first Lottie blouse that I blogged about in my last post, I couldn’t resist running another one up!  The Lottie #2 is made out of this wonderful Liberty print that I bought last week on a whim.

PB4
Check out the lovely print!

I love the feel of this fabric.  It is so smooth to the touch and drapes beautifully – perfect for a pussy bow blouse!

This time I decided to make the sleeveless version so that I could wear it in the summer months too – yes, I’m wishing winter away!  I made the collar the same way as I mentioned in my last post but instead of hand stitching the inside seam I stitched in the ditch.  To be honest, there was more than enough hand finishing to be done on the bias binding around the armholes!

PB3
Showing off my bias binding!

I made the smallest size this time and I think that the fit is better on me.

PB1
Perfect for smart of casual wear!

 

I also made my lovely mum a Clemence skirt this week as a ‘Thank you’ for letting me borrow her sewing machine.  The good news is that I pick up my own sewing machine from the shop tomorrow – it’s only taken two months for them to fix, but I’m looking forward to having my Brother back! 🙂

I thought it was about time that I tried something new so I’m now working on my vintage pledge and making a muslin for a 1950’s dress – VERY challenging!

Watch this space…

 

22 thoughts on “Loving the Liberty

    1. I have been collecting vintage patterns for a little while and now and I am looking forward to trying them out now that I am a little more confident with the whole dressmaking process. The pattern sizing is a bit of a headache but I’ve decided to go for it!

      Like

      1. I struggle with resizing but it will make me a better dress maker so I keep my seam ripper close by! I bought most of the vintage patterns Butterick has out now, and some of the Vogue as well. Then my sister and I inherited patterns from my Grandmother. I just love the 40’s and 50’s!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Oh it looks gorgeous! I too have made one in a ️Liberty but can’t blog about it yet!! 🐝mine are quite baggy on the tummy too and am wondering whether the addition of some tucks or something would be the answer….??

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

