Trousers · Vintage Look

My First Trousers – Hepburn Style

One of my challenges was to sew a pair of trousers this year.  Not just any trousers you understand, but an elegant pair like the ones Katharine Hepburn brought to everyone’s attention in the 1940’s.

Katharine rocking those trousers!

I love everything about these trousers – the nipped in waist, the drape of the fabric and the way they appear to lengthen the leg.

After scouring many, many patterns for a similar style, I came across Jane’s wonderful red trousers that can be seen over at handmadejane.  Aren’t they fabulous?!

It turned out that the pattern that I could not live without was called Juniper by Colette.  The instructions stated that it was suitable for a beginner to sew and with a quick click it ended up in my shopping basket.  The little green envelope was delivered and sat on the shelf for a little while, taunting me from the corner of the sewing room…

colette trousers
Charcoal suiting and a contrast fabric by Rowan

 

I found some wonderful charcoal fabric that would make the perfect pair of trousers.  I overlocked the edges before pre-washing the fabric so that it didn’t fray during the cycle.  I then looked for some pretty fabric to line the pockets and to use for the bias binding around the inside waistband.

Being a pear, I often have trouble getting trousers to fit me properly because of my small waist and fuller hips.  I tend to get that awful gaping at the back so I was wondering if any alterations were needed…

I cut the pattern smaller at the top of the waistband.  It was only a tiny bit of a trim but it made make all the difference – these trousers fit me perfectly with no saggy back bits!

Juniper4
A nice snug waistband!
Juniper3
Rear view!

I decided to finish the trousers using two shell buttons from my stash rather than the hook that is stated in the pattern.  I also added one of my new labels that arrived this week which really finishes of the garment.

Juniper1
Finishing details. The label reads: Springy Stitches, a garment to cherish

 

Juniper2
Showing off my pockets!

I may not have Katharine’s good looks or stunning figure, but I certainly feel wonderful wearing a garment that fits me perfectly!  I have already cut out a pair in chambray for a more casual look…

Until next time…

38 thoughts on “My First Trousers – Hepburn Style

  1. Congratulations on making such a lovely, well-fitting pair of slacks. Making pants that I love is a sewing goal of mine this year. That looks like a great pattern to try as I am also a pear shape, and pant legs that hang straight from the hip are always the most flattering on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I must admit it does make you feel special and more confident. I have never really liked the way my work trousers hung on me before. They always looked frumpy, probably because I would buy a larger size to cover my hips which didn’t do my small waist any justice! These are definitely going to become a staple in my wardrobe!

      Like

Leave a Reply

