Dresses

A New Addiction – Bows!

Pussy Bow
Pussy Bow

Ever since I read  ‘The Lawn Bow’ blog by Sew Deputy I was compelled to make this dress! I already had the pattern and was originally planning on making the one with the Peter Pan collar but her beautiful bow clinched the deal!  Its another Simplicity pattern (K1609) and really easy to make as there are only two main pattern pieces.

DSC_5539
I’m not sure what I’m looking at here…

Now I’ve never classed myself as a ‘bow’ kind of person in the past but the shape of this one is perfect.  I was also having a bit of a nightmare with the collar to be honest:

Collar number 1:

The interfacing was too heavy for the fabric and I looked like Harry Hill.

Collar number 2:

After piecing the collar together, trimming and clipping the curves I realised that I had sewn the wrong sides together (I don’t think that my streaming cold was helping my concentration!)

After these two mishaps I fell out of love with the collar and thought I would try the bow and I’m glad I did 🙂

I used a lightweight cotton fabric for this project and kept the length a little longer so that I could wear it for work.

You can just about make out the tiny polka dots amongst the roses.
You can just about make out the tiny polka dots amongst the roses.

I had several lovely comments about this one and I also admitted that I made it myself – I think my confidence is growing!

DSC_5536

I’ll definitely be making another one soon!

Until next time…

14 thoughts on “A New Addiction – Bows!

  1. I love this! The fabric is just adorable! I’m making myself one from this pattern at the moment (the collar version!) I made a mock-up after my last dress sizing disaster and I love it… Shame it’s only a mock-up because I think this real thing isn’t turning out so well!! Yours has motivated me to get it finished though!! 🙂

    Like

  2. I’ve been inspired by Amanda’s version too. Have my fabric ready, just need to find the time to sit still and sew. Love your version of this too, cute, floral print 🙂
    I’ve also nominated you for the versatile blogger award, details on my last post…

    Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s what Amanda said too. My fabric’s called ‘Galloping Horses’. You can tell I’ve been to John Lewis, not sure I’ve come across a fabric worthy of an actual name before…

        Like

  3. Oh my, yet another stunning dress. It’s soooo pretty, I love the delicate pattern on the material and the bow is a beautiful addition. I’m glad you decided to go with it instead of a collar. Suits you!!! The more I see your creations the more I feel the need to get out my sewing machine!! XX

    Like

  4. Super cute, I like this bow detail, and the romantic look it gives to your dress! Collar making sounds extremely challenging, not to say nightmarish… But you were right to go for the bow instead, it works great on this dress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

